Administration of the UT System is overseen by the President’s staff and chief unit officers, which make up the President’s Administrative Council. The Council meets regularly with the President on key System-based projects and priorities.

Click on an image or name below for biographical and contact information.

President’s Staff

President’s staff members report directly to the President of the UT System.

Tonja Johnson

Tonja Johnson

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Dr. Herb Byrd III portrait

Herb Byrd

Vice President, Institute for Public Service

David Golden

David Golden

Executive Assistant to the President

Portrait of Anthony Haynes

Anthony Haynes

Vice President for Government Relations and Advocacy

David Miller

David Miller

Chief Financial Officer

Rickey McCurry portrait

Rickey N. McCurry

Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs and Programs
President and CEO of the UT Foundation, Inc.

Stacey Patterson

Stacey Patterson

Vice President for Research, Outreach and Economic Development

Matthew Scoggins Portrait

Matthew Scoggins

General Counsel

Chief Unit Officers

Tiffany Carpenter portrait

Tiffany Carpenter

Associate Vice President for Communications and Marketing

Linda Hendricks Harig portrait

Linda Hendricks Harig

Vice President for Human Resources

Dennis Hengstler

Dennis Hengstler

Assistant Vice President and Director of Institutional Research

Sandy Jansen

Executive Director, Office of Audit and Compliance

The Office of Audit and Compliance reports directly to the Audit and Compliance Committee of the UT Board of Trustees.

Linda Martin

Linda Martin

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Success

Special Advisors to the President

Noma Anderson

Noma Anderson

Special Advisor to the President on Diversity and Inclusion

Bob Smith

Robert M. Smith

Special Advisor to the President for Leadership and Talent Development


Beverly Davenport

Beverly J. Davenport

Chancellor, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Steve Angle portrait

Steve Angle

Chancellor, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Keith Carver

Keith Carver

Chancellor, University of Tennessee at Martin

Steve Schwab portrait

Steve Schwab

Chancellor, University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Tim Cross

Chancellor, University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture